Foul, Nasty School Lunch!

A closer look at what school children are eating!

Questions.

I got some questions in the comments today, so I decided to reply to them. If you guys have any other questions, feel free to ask!

Does anyone ask why you are taking pictures of your lunch?
-Haha yeah, all the time.  I have to explain myself at least twice a day!

Does your school board have a website with school menu and nutrition information for each selection?
-We do have a website with the breakfast/lunch menu on it, but no nutritional information is shown.  The menu has a “meal of the month” with a “calorie analysis” (I just noticed this.) I’ll most likely start posting them.

Do you have the option to bring your lunch on the days you know you wont like what is served?
-Yes, we have the option of bringing our lunch.  But most families around here cannot afford to buy their children lunch daily, as our school breakfast and lunch is 100% free.

Also is it possible to talk to the lunchroom staff and have them cut your apple up?
-If I ask for it to be cut up, then other students will, and the lunch ladies will go mad! The culinary room is off of the cafeteria, so I may just go there to cut my apples whenever necessary.

Do they actually cook anything that is served to you all or does your school kitchen just open packages and reheat?
-I’ve been in the room where school lunch is prepared, and none of it looks like anything you’d use to actually cook something.  It all looks like heat-up ovens and big pots (for things like soup.)  I’m not 100% sure whether anything is actually cooked or not, though.

Why don’t you ever eat the fruit?
-I’m not a big fan of packaged fruit… and peaches everyday would get pretty sickening after awhile.

April 18, 2010 Posted by | Random | 2 Comments